Laps and Wheelsuckers

Tuesday Evening and the first I have really noticed a little more daylight, even so when I clipped in to the Pedals toCycle down the Greenway to Belfast for the Phoenix CC Airport road laps it was most definitely dark and very chilly, but at least the roads were nice and dry.

Another reason I was thankful for the dry roads was because I was on my “Summer Bike” having been too lazy to reach for the Torque wrench when fettling my Winter Bike and you guessed it I wrung a bolt, on the Seatpost clamp of all things.

Initially there were only six of us gathered for the Airport road session, strangely low given the good evening for it. Six rapidly became five when Scott punctured a tubular tyre and with no sealant with him he had an early finish. The airport road is pan flat bar the speed ramps, hardly the most challenging route but it is exposed and often the wind becomes the biggest challenge.

Tonight the ride was my fastest ride of this year by a considerable margin and yet it felt very easy for me and also felt easier than other Weeks on the same ride. Our group of five soon had other cyclists latching on to the back of our group. Some were willing to join in the rotation and take their pull, however one annonymous randomer (is that even a word?) who latched on to our group just sat on the back all night “wheelsucking”, never once rotating through and taking a pull, benefitting from the slipstream we were creating for him but not contributing.

Leave a comment